

FIRE STANDARDS COMPLIANT CIGARETTE CERTIFICATION FORM INSTRUCTIONS

General Information

Who must file this Certification?

Any Participating or Non-participating Manufacturer, who intend for their brands to be listed as compliant with the South Carolina Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity Standard and Firefighter Protection Act.

It is unlawful to sell offer for sale in the State of South Carolina any cigarette that is not compliant with the South Carolina Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity Standard and Firefighter Protection Act (unless the cigarettes were in inventory and taxes paid prior to January 1, 2010.)

When is this Certification due?

All Certifications are valid for a period of three years as per §23-51-40. The Office of State Fire Marshal will not process incomplete or illegible certifications.

Where do I send my completed Certification?

Mail this completed Certification (FSC-1/2010) and one SC FSCBrand Style Excel Spreadsheet for each Project Code to:

Chief of Licensing & Permitting Office of State Fire Marshal 141 Monticello Trail Columbia, SC 29203

Checks are to be payable to: SCDLLR, Office of State Fire Marshal

Contact Information:

Chief of Licensing & Permitting
E-Mail: Shawn.Stickle@llr.sc.gov

Phone: 803-834-0944

Website: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/firemarshal.asp

Specific Instructions

Part 1: Type of Certification

- Initial Certification applications must be submitted and approved. Prior to a product being sold or offered for sale in South Carolina.
- Subsequent re-Certifications are due 90 days prior to expiration.
- Supplemental Certifications must be filed if brand styles are to be added or removed.

Part 2: Manufacturer Identification

Provide your company name, contact name of person completing the Form, address, phone, fax, web address, FEIN, and e-mail address for notification. Web address of company is optional.

Part 3: Manufacturer's Representative Brand Family Certification

Provide information of the entity that will be acting as the manufacturer's representative. If the same as Part 2, check applicable box.

Part 4: Test Method

- Check the box indicating which test method applies to the Brands being certified.
- Provide name of ISO/IEC 17025 Certified Test Lab
- If an alternative test method is being used, attach a copy of the of the alternative test method as required by \$23-51-30. Attach the most recent test results.
- Complete one SC FSC Brand Style Excel Spreadsheet for each Project Code (designed to be completed on your computer), save in Excel, submit as an attachment and E-mail to:

OSFMLicensingAndPermitting@llr.sc.gov

 Please note that there is a Manufacturer Information sheet and a Brand Information Sheet in this document and a new document should be submitted for each Project Test Code identifying the cigarette brands/styles tested under that code.

Part 5: Marking Approval

- Prior to the Certification of any cigarettes, if using other than "FSC", a Manufacturer shall present its proposed marking to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval.
- Attach a copy of Fire Marshal approval for alternate proposed marking.
- Attach a copy of Manufacturer proposed marking that is 8-point type or larger and is in conjunction with or is at or around the UPC code.

Part 6: Certification Information provided to Wholesale Dealers and Agents

This section is for information and reminder to the Manufacturer to provide the Certification information as outlined in the South Carolina State Statutes.

Part 7: Manufacturer Certification

The authorized designee executing the Certification must be an officer, principal, director or other authorized representative of the Manufacturer. The authorized designee's name and title must be legibly printed. This document must be signed and dated by an authorized notary public.