

V-SAFE Panel Meeting Minutes Friday, February 23, 2018 at 10 a.m.

I. Call to Order and Welcome: Chairman Kyle Minick

The meeting was posted and advertised pursuant to all South Carolina laws, rules, and regulations. Chairman Minick called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

The following panel members were present (see below). Also present were LLR employees Mary League, George Stapleton, Abigail Stevens, Li Key, and Susan Duncan. A quorum was present.

| V-SAFE Panel Members | | | | | | | | | |
|----------------------|---|-----------|---|---------|---|----------|---|----------|---|
| Jonathan | Х | Kyle | Х | Barry | Χ | Aubrey | Ρ | Tommy | X |
| Jones | | Minick | | McRoy | | Atkinson | | Keaton | |
| Bill | Х | Steve | Х | Randy | Α | Glenn | Х | Region 3 | |
| Dunlap | | Arsenault | | Swinton | | Poole | | Vacant | |

II. Introduction and Roll Call of Members

P: Via Phone X: Present A: Absent

III. Approval of Agenda and Previous Minutes (January 18 and January 23, 2018)

Bill Dunlap made a motion to approve the agenda. Glenn Poole seconded. The motion carried unanimously without discussion.

Bill Dunlap made a motion to approve the January 18 and January 23, 2018 meeting minutes. Glenn Poole seconded. The motion carried unanimously without discussion.

IV. Application Scoring Compilation

Jonathan Jones shared grant compilation information. There were 210 requests. The total amount to be disbursed is \$882,644.34. As a result of scoring each application and compiling the scores, 32 fire departments will receive funding. The total requests received totaled \$5,394,604.49. The average of each request is \$25,688.59. The maximum amount to be awarded is \$30,000.

Steve Arsenault made a motion. If there is a scoring tie (and there is not enough money to fund the requests), the department with the highest financial need will be the recipient. Bill Dunlap seconded. The motion carried unanimously without discussion.

Jonathan Jones stated there were no applications from six counties. These include Richland, Beaufort, Jasper, Allendale, Charleston, and Georgetown counties.

V. Old Business

There was no old business to discuss.

VI. New Business

The panel discussed how to communicate the grant disbursement information to fire chiefs (recipients and non-recipients) as well as legislators. Each fire chief who is to receive grant funding will receive a personalized letter signed by Chairman Minick and Chief Jones and a copy of the grant agreement. Each fire chief who applied for a grant and is not receiving funding will be sent an email to inform him the next open grant cycle is in the fall. Each legislator within the respective county will receive a letter listing the grant recipients within that county.

The panel was reminded a grant performance report must be sent to the Governor's office, Senate Finance, and House Ways and Means. The report will provide aggregate details.

Jonathan Jones stated to improve the grant application process, an after action item review will be completed. It was shared with the Panel that Barry McRoy sent an email to State Fire staff indicating several suggestions for improvement. Jonathan Jones would like to see the application process mirror the AFG application process and expand the NFIRS section into more categories. The SC Code of Laws does not list priorities for funding and the panel discussed its wishes to have that ability.

The panel was reminded, if any of the fire chiefs who did not receive funding wish to discuss their application, a copy of the panel comments may be forwarded to the chief.

There was a discussion regarding leftover funds remaining in the account and if partial funding is approved for a department.

The Panel was reminded, by law, "two percent of these funds may be awarded to the South Carolina Firefighters' Association." A motion was made by Tommy Keaton to not accept their application for \$17,100 and to allow the 33rd department on the list to receive the funds. The motion was seconded by Glenn Poole. The motion carried unanimously without discussion.

Glenn Poole made a motion to approve the list as awarded. It was seconded by Bill Dunlap. The motion carried unanimously without discussion.

V. Next Meeting and Adjournment

A motion was made by Glenn Poole to adjourn the meeting. Bill Dunlap seconded. The motion carried unanimously without discussion. The next meeting was not scheduled and is at the call of the chair. The meeting adjourned at noon.